In Quebec, education has recently been undergoing rapid change and the trend is to provide an organization more closely resembling that in the other provinces in which there is a unified governmental authority at the provincial level. Following the recommendations of the Royal Commission of Inquiry on Education (constituted early in 1961 and issuing the first volume of its report early in 1964), the Quebec Legislature in the Spring of 1964 passed "Bill 60" providing for the creation of a new administrative structure for Quebec's education system. The Department of Youth and the Department of Public Instruction were replaced by a Department of Education. The former Minister of Youth was appointed Minister of Education and the former head of the Planning Bureau in the Department of Youth was named Deputy Minister. The latter is assisted by two Associate Deputy Ministers-one for the Roman Catholic sector and the other for the Protestant sector. Also abolished by the new Act is the Council of Public Instruction (and its Catholic and Protestant Committees of 44 and 22 members, respectively), which long constituted the real authority over the separately administered Catholic and Protestant public school systems. In its stead, as a purely consultative body in education policy-making, a representative body entitled the Superior Council of Education was set up as of July 1964; its purpose is to provide a channel of communication between the public and the Ministry and assist in keeping the education system in constant contact with the evolution of society.

"Operation 55", a three-year plan to organize the Province of Quebec into 55 school regions to provide academic and vocational education, was launched on Sept. 10, 1964. The mapping of the regions was followed by the creation of regional planning committees and by the installation of regional school boards.

The Yukon and Northwest Territories.—In the Yukon Territory, the school system is operated by the Territorial Government through a superintendent and staff at Whitehorse responsible to the Commissioner of the Territory who, in turn, receives instructions from the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources in Ottawa. The Education Division of the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources offers advice on education policy to the Minister and Territorial authorities. All schools, both public and separate, with the exception of the Carcross Indian Residential School (operated by the Indian Affairs Branch of the federal Department of Citizenship and Immigration in co-operation with the Territorial Government) and St. Mary's School (a quasi-private school operated by the Roman Catholic Church in Dawson) come under the direct ownership and operation of the Government of the Yukon Territory. Although there is provision for three types of schools in the Yukon—public, separate and Indian—most of the Indian children attend either the public or the separate schools. In 1964, the population was 16,000 of whom 2,200 were Indians. By choice, the schools of the Yukon follow the British Columbia education curricula.

In the Northwest Territories (the Districts of Mackenzie, Franklin and Keewatin) the school system is operated by the Education Division of the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources by agreement with the Government of the Northwest Territories. The Federal Government, as the operating agency, finances school operation and receives from the Territorial Government the pupil cost for pupils who are neither Indian nor Eskimo. Enrolment for the 1964-65 term included 2,639 Eskimos, 1,319 Indians and 2,749 others, a total of 6,707 in the Northwest Territories and Arctic Quebec combined. Yellowknife public and separate school districts and Hay River separate school district are financed partly by local taxation and partly through grants-in-aid from the Federal and Northwest Territorial Governments. Inspection and supervisory services are provided by the Education Division. Alberta education curricula, subject to increasing modifications, are prescribed for the schools of the North-